Sun in my mouth… Fate and Faith

I was inspired to write about Fate after listening to the song “Sun in My Mouth” by Bjork, which is largely taken from the poem “I Will Wade Out” by e.e. cummings.

I Will Wade Out by E. E. Cummings

i will wade out
                       till my thighs are steeped in burning flowers
I will take the sun in my mouth
and leap into the ripe air
                                       Alive
                                                 with closed eyes
to dash against darkness
                                   in the sleeping curves of my body
Shall enter fingers of smooth mastery
with chasteness of sea-girls
                                         Will i complete the mystery
                                         of my flesh
I will rise
               After a thousand years
lipping
flowers
             And set my teeth in the silver of the moon

My favorite part of the poem is the following verses.

I will take the sun in my mouth
and leap into the ripe air
                                       Alive
                                                 with closed eyes
to dash against darkness

I love this part of the poem because it alludes to the notion of Fate and Faith. Taking “the sun in my mouth” suggests taking a positive outlook when facing the unknown of what awaits us in life. In other words, taking a leap of faith in the darkness of the unknown.

In the second part,

 in the sleeping curves of my body
Shall enter fingers of smooth mastery
with chasteness of sea-girls
                                         Will i complete the mystery
                                         of my flesh

I believe he is refering to the way life experiences mold our life. The latter part of the poem may refer to his decision to walk in virtue.

The poem also eloquently suggests that we are masters over some aspects of our life and subservient to other aspects. The use of capital “I” and lower case “i” in the following verses “I will take the sun in my mouth” and “I will rise” shows his control over the choice to think positively and his ability to overcome.  Conversely, in verses like “i will wade out” and “Will i complete the mystery of my flesh”, “i” emphasizes his submission to the life that has been given him and his eventual death.

Elizabeth Gilbert comes to a similar conclusion in her book Eat Pray Love when she defines Destiny and Faith as follows:

Destiny is “a play between divine grace and willful self-effort. Half of it you have no control over; half of it is absolutely in your hands, and your actions will show measurable consequence.   (p.177, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert)

Faith is walking face-first and full-speed into the dark. […] If we truly knew all the answers in advance as to the meaning of life and the nature of God and the destiny of our souls, our belief would not be a leap of faith and it would not be a courageous act of humanity; it would just be … a prudent insurance policy.  (p. 175, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert)

I will close with the song that inspired it all Sun in My Mouth by Bjork. The song is part of the Vespertine album. Sadly, I could only find one link to the original song that is of poor quality but hopefully you’ll still appreciate its innocence and beauty.

Hope you enjoy!

About radiaj

I am a Research Scientist & Bioinformatician who specializes in Immunology and Cancer Biology. I routinely use R and other programing languages to explore genomic data of cancer cells to identify molecular changes and risk factors that contributes to cancer development.
This entry was posted in Bjork, e.e. cummings, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sun in my mouth… Fate and Faith

  1. Anf says:

    Very interesting interpretation.

    Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.
    — Martin Luther King, Jr.

  2. Malek says:

    Nice!! keep writing Radia!

Leave a Reply

